science

How to view the Mars landing on February 18 | Space

Landing on Mars Difficult. So you’ll want to watch tomorrow when perseverance It is hoped that (formerly known as March 2020) will become the first artificial object to land on the Red Planet since Insight Mars Lander in 2018. It will be the first Rover since then Curiosity of Relegated in 2012. Due to landing in Crater LakeLocated just north of Mars’ equator, Perseverance carries a plethora of scientific tools for collecting soil samples and looking for signs of ancient life. It is equipped with advanced audiovisual technology to allow us to see and hear – for the first time ever – what feels like touching another world. It will be exciting! NASA TV Live coverage of the event will begin tomorrow Feb.18 at 2:15 PM EST (19:15) UTC); It will land at approximately 3:55 PM EST (20:55 PM) UTC).

Where to see: NASA TVAnd the YoutubeAnd the TwitterAnd the The social networking site FacebookAnd the LinkedinAnd the TwitchAnd the Dailymotion, And the Theta.

Lunar calendars for 2021 are here. A few remained. Order it before you go!

Cameras and microphones innovative in tenacity will capture a large portion of their axes Entry, disembarkation and landing Processing. This process is sometimes referred to by space engineers as Seven minutes of horrorMany consider it the most important and dangerous part of the mission.

According to NASAEngineers expect to receive notice of the major milestones of the decline in the estimated times below. Because of the distance the signals must travel from Mars to Earth, these events actually happen on Mars 11 minutes, which is 22 seconds earlier than what is mentioned below. Also, a variety of factors can affect the precise timing of these aforementioned landmarks, including the characteristics of the Martian atmosphere that are difficult to predict until the spacecraft has already flown through.

– The cruise phase separation: the portion of the spacecraft that has been flying persistently – with NASA’s Creative Mars helicopter attached to its stomach – through space for the past six and a half months, will separate from the entry capsule at around 3:38 PM EST ( 12:38 PM PDT, 20:38 UTC).

– Entry into the atmosphere: The spacecraft is expected to reach the summit of Mars’ atmosphere at 12,100 miles per hour (19,500 kilometers per hour) at 3:48 PM EST (12:48 PM PDT, 20:48 UTC) Coordinator).

– Peak Heating: Friction from the atmosphere will heat the bottom of the spacecraft to temperatures of about 2,370 degrees Fahrenheit (about 1,300 degrees Celsius) at 3:49 PM EST (12:49 PM PDT, 20:49 UTC).

– Parachute Deployment: The spacecraft will deploy its parachute at supersonic speed at about 3:52 PM EST (12:52 PM PDT, 20:52 UTC). Accurate deployment time is based on new Range Trigger technology, which improves the accuracy of the spacecraft’s ability to hit a landing target.

– Heat Shield Detachment: The entry capsule’s protective bottom detaches about 20 seconds after the parachute diffuses. This allows the vehicle to use radar to determine its distance from the ground and use terrain-relative navigation technology to find a safe landing site.

– Back Cover Separation: The back half of the parachute entry capsule will be separated from the rover and the Jetpack (known as the Landing Stage) at 3:54 PM EST (12:54 PM PDT, 20:54 UTC) . You will use Jetpack retrorocket to slow down and fly to landing site.

Landing: Using the sky crane’s maneuver, the landing spacecraft will lower the rover to the surface on nylon ropes. The spacecraft is expected to land on Mars at a human walking speed (about 1.7 miles per hour, or 2.7 kilometers per hour) at about 3:55 PM EST (12:55 PM PDT, 20:55 UTC) ).

Top view of a rotating space capsule over a reddish landscape of Mars.

The atmospheric structure containing NASA’s Perseverance Probe directs itself toward the surface of Mars as it descends through the atmosphere in this illustration. Hundreds of critical events need to be executed perfectly and on exact time for the spacecraft to land on Mars safely. Image via NASA/ JPL-Caltech.

The rover will hit the Martian atmosphere as it travels at nearly 12,000 mph (19,000 km / h), and travels across the sky as a protective heat shield helps slow it down. Then, at an altitude of about 1 mile (1.5 km), the landing gear will fire its engines, while a new terrain-relative navigation system will start to determine a safe landing spot. Basically, it will scan and analyze the terrain below, then match it with the maps in its database and prepare for the landing.

READ  Hear the Martian wind blowing in these first sounds of the Chariot of Perseverance

A 70-foot (21 m) parachute will be deployed to slow the vehicle further, causing it to descend into a crawl, before Sky crane Its mission to bring the rover down the road begins. The Sky Lift is the same landing and landing system that Curiosity uses, and it’s a fully autonomous system designed to give rovers a nice, (hopefully) gentle landing.

In terms of design, the rover is very similar to the Curiosity of The currently existing rover Gale Crater, But it has some different scientific tools. While Curiosity focuses on finding evidence of habitability in the past, which it has done, persistence is looking for direct evidence of life itself. This will be the first mission since Viking 1 and 2 Landing in the late 1970s / early 1980s to do so.

Incredible new Perseverance cameras will capture a lot of this entire process. A camera mounted on the back cover of the spacecraft is facing upwards. This will record a view of the parachutes deployed as they slow down. Next, underneath it is a camera pointing down at the landing stage, which will photograph the first touching contact with Earth on Mars. This combination of technology will provide us with the most detailed video and photo recordings to land in a neighboring world yet. Laurie GlazeHe, who heads the planetary science division at NASA’s Science Mission Directorate, told reporters:

We will be able to see ourselves landing for the first time on another planet.

However, there will be no live broadcast of the footage, as we are used to the events of the International Space Station and the launch of rockets from Earth. The reason for this is the delay in transferring data from Mars to Earth, which is even slower than the old dial-up connections. But we might get a glimpse of perseverance on the ground using Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, Which can at least share the low-resolution images with us soon after landing. Moreover, we will also have live feeds from the Mission Control Center at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory In Pasadena, California. Snapshots of the Curiosity landing left us some iconic photos (Enter Bobak Ferdowsi). Definitely, Corona Virus Protocols will remain in effect at the Mission Control Center, but it is unlikely that even a pandemic will dampen celebration. Deputy project manager perseverance Matt Wallace She said:

I don’t think Covid will be able to stop us from jumping up and down and hitting our fists. You’ll see a lot of happy people no matter what, once we get that thing on the surface safely.

The NASA employees in blue shirts smile and cuddle.

Researchers at the Main Control Center on the NASA-JPL mission, celebrating the 2012 Curiosity Landing. Image via NASA / daily Mail.

To date, there have only been eight successful landings on Mars: Viking 1 and Viking 2 (both 1976), Pathfinder (1997), Spirit and Opportunity (both 2004), Phoenix (2008), Curiosity (2012) and InSight (2018). ).

READ  Astronomers discover the farthest object in the solar system: 'Farfarout'

The Soviet Union is the only other country to have successfully landed a spacecraft on Mars. That was in 1971 and 1973.

On the other hand, once they get there, Mars missions may continue for years, and robotic vehicles from Earth have spent years orbiting Mars. With Perseverance Mission, for the first time ever, NASA will experience something new; It will launch a small helicopter in the thin air of Mars. The helicopter was called cleverness. He will try to explore around the young planet, in an effort to target locations important for future Mars missions.

NASA has chosen Jezero Crater as the landing site for its Perseverance spacecraft, with good reason. Scientists believe the area was previously submerged and was home to an ancient watery river delta more than 3.5 billion years ago. River channels spilled over the crater wall creating a lake carrying mud minerals from its surroundings. Microbial life could have lived in the crater during one or more of these wet periods, and if so, there could be signs of their remains in lake or shore bed sediments. Scientists will study how the area formed and evolved, look for signs of past life, and collect samples of Martian rocks and soil that may preserve these signs. The landing site selection process involved members of the expedition team and scientists from around the world, who carefully screened over 60 candidate sites. But after a comprehensive five-year study of potential sites, each with their own unique characteristics and attractiveness, Jezero has risen to the top.

READ  The NASA mission will zoom in with the asteroid Bennu before returning a sample to Earth

In preparation for Landing Perseverance, NASA offers landing resources, engagement methods, and social opportunities, And more. Download posters, stickers, fact sheets, assignment corrections, and more. Register to attend a virtual landing event, where you can connect online with other space enthusiasts and ask NASA experts’ most pressing questions. Get lessons and student activities, or even virtual passport stamps are all available Via their website here.

A machine with wheels touching the ground and hanging from a flyer resembling a drone with 4 missiles in view of the planet Mars.

NASA will use the Sky Lever to gently lower tenacity on Mars. Artist concept across NASA.

Bottom line: Due to landing in Jezero Crater tomorrow, NASA’s Tenacity Vehicle will carry scientific tools to collect soil samples and look for signs of ancient life. It will also use audiovisual technology to allow us to see and hear what feels like touching another world for the first time ever. How to watch live coverage to download perseverance.

Read more from CNET: NASA’s Mars Rover: What to expect on landing day

Perseverance Hot Wells lands in stores ahead of the orbiter on Mars

Rovera

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *